westgoeseast

Just another WordPress.com site

International Drivers License–look out Japan, here we come December 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — westgoeseast @ 11:27 am

Bruce and I passed the test for the international license on our first try!  We didn’t study too much because we heard it was better to just go in and fail it and then learn what you didn’t know.  There was a power point to review before taking it.  I guess our short term memory is working pretty good.  Just hope we know what to do when we see the signs out and about.  No worries–the highest speed limit in japan is 60 kilometer’s an hour.  I think that is about 47 miles per hour.  Yup, even on the major high ways!

It is very confusing to even ride my bike around.  I am not sure what side of the road I should be on.  Hopefully it will sink in quickly.   We are still looking for a car to buy–just a little cheap one to get around here.

Tonight I was thinking of the last few days in the U.S. and all the sweet goodbye’s we said.  How heartbreaking it was to watch my kids say good bye to their childhood buddies.  It still brings tears to my eyes.  I was then thinking about how thankful I am that we have people in our lives we love so much that it hurts to leave.  Life is precious and people even more so!  We miss you all so much!

Yesterday we went for our Kumon Japanese class.  It is even more expensive than I thought.  I think I will pay for Benjamin & Joanna for this month and then Jonathon and I will practice on our own at home.  We will have the cd to listen to and can use their worksheets.  We are doing everything we possibly can to help them catch up!  They are working hard.

Thinking of you all and wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

 

Leave a comment